July 23, 2013

Bernadeen Silva Memorial – Flash Film Competition (2013)

Bernadeen Silva Memorial Award is held annually in the memory of late Ms. Bernadeen Silva in remembrance of her extensive contribution to the civil society and her commitment to issues such as Peace, Social Justice and Civil Rights.

For the year 2013, WERC held a flash film competition in memory of Bernadeen Silva. WERC accepted flash film submissions that explored 'Women's Power and Women's Role as change in all spheres of life/ society'. Eighteen candidates submitted their productions on this theme including short films, documentaries, animations and music videos, of which we shortlisted 06 and then selected the first and second winners. The panel of judges included a Member of Board of WERC plus two experts in the field. They were Dr. Sivamohan Sumathy , Dr. Sunil Wijesiriwardena and Ms. Dinali Fernando.

The first & second place received a cash prize of Rs. 50,000/= and Rs. 30,000/= respectively along with certificates. The first place was awarded to Mr Janaka Ruwan Kumara for the short film "Oxygen". The second place was awarded to Ms Velayudan Jayachithra for the documentary "Beyond the concrete world". This was held on November, 06th 2013 at WERC Auditorium.

Click here to view photos